Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar (IITBBS)

Spread the love

Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar (IIT Bhubaneswar or IIT BBS) is a public engineering institution established by the government of India in 2008, located at Bhubaneswar, India. It is one of the eight new Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) established by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India under The Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 2011 which establishes the eight new IITs as well as declares IT-BHU as Indian Institute of Technology. The Act was passed in the Lok Sabha on 24 March 2011 and by the Rajya Sabha on 30 April 2012.[3]It started functioning from the campus of IIT Kharagpur on 23 July 2008 and shifted its operation to the city of Bhubaneswar on 22 July 2009.

The institute admits candidates into B. Tech, M. Tech, and Ph.D. program. Institute has started operating from permanent campus at Arugula from academic session 2015-16. The classes are held in the permanent campus at Argul. The academic session begins in July each year. Currently, Prof. R.V. Rajakumar is the director of the institute.

Course Offered


Degree NameDegree MajorDegree Duration
B.TechCivil Engineering4 Years
B.TechElectrical Engineering4 Years
B.TechMechanical Engineering4 Years
B.TechComputer Science and Technology4 Years


Degree NameDegree MajorDegree Duration
M.Tech / Ph.DSchool of Electrical Sciences2 Years
M.Tech / Ph.DSchool of Mechanical Sciences2 Years
M.Tech / Ph.DSchool of Basic Sciences2 Years
M.Tech / Ph.DSchool of Humanities, Social Sciences & Management2 Years
M.Tech / Ph.DSchool of Minerals, Metallurgical & Materials Engineering2 Years
M.Tech / Ph.DSchool of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences2 Years

Admission Through Exam UG/PG Courses

Admission to all Undergraduates Programmes are made through the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE). The eligibility for appearing for JEE and detail about the JEE can be obtained from the JEE websites.

Admission to all postgraduate programmes are made through the GATE is conducted jointly by the Indian Institute of Science and seven Indian Institutes of Technology (Bombay, Delhi, Guwahati, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras and Roorkee) on behalf of the National Coordination Board – GATE, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resources Development (MHRD),Government of India. MA / M.Sc / M.Phil / MS / equivalents degree (Cognitive Science / Psychology / Linguistic / Philosophy / Anthropology / Physics / Chemistry / Mathematic / Statistic /Bioscience / related disciplines) with a minimum of 60% or 6.0/10 (grade point average) in the qualifying degree. A valid score/qualification in GATE/ CSIR/ JRF/ NET/others equivalents exams. Applicants from IITs with a grade point average of 8.0/10 (or equivalent) are exempted from the GATE/ CSIR/ JRF/ NET requirement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *